Junior Selection Moot

On 22nd September, 2018 the Moot Court Society of SDM Law College has conducted the Junior Selection Moot Court Competition for the academic year 2018-19. The junior category consisted of students from 1st year and 2nd year of BA LLB and BBA LLB and also 1st years of LLB. One team comprised of three members including two speakers and one researcher. 32 teams have participated for the same. Lot picking for the category was held on 11.09.2018 in room no. 204 at 2:00 PM. On 20.09.2018 the memorials were collected from the participants.

This year the moot court society had an object to well equip the students for any moot representation outside the college and also to make them well acquainted with legal knowledge. And thereby the concept of submission of memorials was introduced along with the arguments.The area opted for the moot proposition was Constitutional law.
The competition commenced at 11:00 AM and ended up at 2:30 PM.

The competition was presided over by eminent lawyers of Mangalore and Expertise of SDM Law College. The esteemed presiding Judges were Adv. Anita Kini, Adv. Shine, Adv. Ashfaq, Adv. Ravi Shankar, Adv. Manmohan, Adv. Sathish, Adv. Prajwal, Adv. Vinayak, Adv. Malvika, Mr. Mahesh Chandra Nayak, Mrs. Balika, Ms. Suma, Mr. Gagan K, and Ms. Josna.

The competition was conducted in 7 Court Halls and the same was arranged in the class rooms of 2nd and 3rd Floor of the college. Apart from participants we had a good set of volunteers. There were 14 escorts who had taken up the duty to escort the judges to the respective court halls and also introducing the judges to the participants. We had 14 bench clerks who have helped us in time management and further court proceedings.

The students were ranked, according to the marks given by the respected judges. The 1st Rank was secured by Mr. Abhyuday and the 2nd rank wassecured by Ms. Dafny D’cunha and the 3rd rank was secured by Ms. Swathi Baliga. The Best Memorial was secured by Ms. Simran for petitioner and Ms.Swathi Baliga for respondent. The best researcher was secured by Ms. Nagashree Sherlekar. The same results were put upon the notice board on the very next day.
The presentation and research of the participants were really appreciated by the judges. And the competition had met the spirit of mooting and was a grand success.